Emerging Marketer Profile – Rica Dezoller, Marketing & Events Assistant, St Vincent’s Private Hospital Melbourne

As featured in Marketing Update

Years in Marketing:
2 years

Qualifications:
Currently studying a Bachelor of Business (Marketing) (Applied) at RMIT University

Current project or activity:
There are always plenty of opportunities for me to work on different projects. I love that every project that I work on, there is always someone from a different department to collaborate with!

Some of the current projects I am working on include building and engaging with the community on our social media channels. The hospital always has great stories and advice to share!

I have also been super busy organising events. We have just started building a new hospital in Werribee. There is a lot of work to be done to ensure that patients are gaining exposure so that when it is built people know about it!

While I have been at St Vincent’s Private, is has been extremely important to me to build rapport with staff from all levels of the organisation and also patients. I love interacting with people and hearing exciting stories and also people’s experiences.

Proudest accomplishment:
In my second year of university I competed in the international marketing competition L’Oreal Brandstorm. My team and I were awarded first place in Australia’s National Finals, and we advanced to the International Finals and were flown to Paris, France to compete against 48 other countries.

The competition consisted of a case study based on L’Oreal Paris where we had to research and analyse the market, idea generate, create a breakthrough product innovation that had commercial reality and implement a strategic marketing plan for the launch of the product locally and on a global scale.

The 8 month long competition taught me so many skills and practices that I am now able to apply to working in the industry.

Which brand do you most admire and why?
Hmmm, it’s really hard to pinpoint one brand, especially because I find inspiration from all different types of brands that are in the market.

If I had to pick one, I would say that I have a lot of admiration for Lego. I find Lego extremely fascinating to read about in regards to their research and development and how year after year, they are able to innovate their products for children. The way that Lego are still able to enhance the children’s play experience no matter how much our world is evolving in terms of technological advancement really interests me.

Marketing program you wish you had worked on?
I would have loved to work on the Netflix marketing launch strategy. I think they are the perfect example of a brand causing disruption in the marketplace!

The most valuable marketing lesson you’ve picked up during your career?
You need to think from the customer’s perspective, really understand their persona.  I personally am really passionate about the consumer experience!

What are the biggest challenges facing marketers today?
Technology is a massive driver for the way marketers communicate with consumers. We also know that consumers want a really personalised and engaged consumer experience. I wonder how these two elements can evolve together and be integrated to enhance the consumer journey.

I recently read an article about the position title of CXO, Chief eXperience Officer. I think this is a great way to really enrich the consumer experience! I personally think that the consumer experience is imperative for a successful brand!

Best recent technological advance for marketing?
Wearable technology has really taken off! I wonder how many pieces of technology we will be wearing in the next couple of years!

What does “Grow Brand You” mean to you?
As an emerging marketer, I see ‘Grow Brand You’ as being really hands on with our projects, taking initiative, asking questions,  and really learn as much as we can!!! Our first couple of years in the industry is the perfect time for us to experiment and grow, this fuels our progress!

I have been extremely fortunate to work with and also be mentored by established marketers that have really pushed my critical, strategic and also creative thinking. These marketers have really been a big part of the way that ‘Fuelling Progress’ has developed me as a marketer!

Do you think sustainability is a burning issue for marketing?
I think it is important and it is great to see that companies are taking action and putting a lot of thought into sustainability. However, I don’t think it’s imperative.

What attributes make a great marketer?
There are so many attributes to what I believe makes a great marketer. I think it’s really important to be creative, curious, analytical, strategic, open minded, marketers need to have an understanding of what their goals are. I also think the way that marketers present themselves is extremely important, we should always be really approachable!

Best lesson learnt from your days at university?
Be proactive! Get out there and start applying what you have learnt in theory to real life projects.

Articles or books you have read that influenced your thinking as a marketer?
I really enjoy going onto Google Scholar and reading literature about how companies innovate their goods and/or services.

Favourite quote?
Opportunities can arise anywhere and at anytime. Take it, cease it, make the most of it! After all everything happens for a reason! (I am  a strong believer of this)

Last movie?
Inside Out (I love animation movies)

Favourite sports team?
I don’t really follow a sports team, although my favourite sport would be basketball. I do also love how the Australian Open is held here in Melbourne.

Favourite holiday spot?
Paris, I’m slightly obsessed with the city!!!

Last book you read?
The last book I read ‘What Colour Is Your Parachute.’ My mentor suggested me to read this book, it’s great for job seekers, especially students who are about to enter the marketing industry!

Hobbies?
I’m a bit of an adventure seeker that likes to always try new things that take me out of my comfort zone! Oh, and you will most likely find me out at a café on the weekend having brunch!

 

Leave a Reply

